wpkg --force-all ...

The --force-all option is available mainly because it exists in dpkg. It is strongly recommended that you never use it. It allows nearly all the validations to be bypassed (see below though) and that means you may create a target system that doesn't work right.

By default wpkg prevents many things from happening while installing or removing packages from your target system. For example, it will not install a package if its version is smaller than the one already installed. It will prevent you from installing a package if one or more of its dependencies are missing. And best of all, it will not install a package if any one of its files are to overwrite any existing files.

With --force-all, all these checks still happen, but they get transformed into warnings instead of errors (although some checks may be skipped entirely depending on whether it is still possible to generate a warning when others are not also processed.)

There are a few exceptions to the rule, though. The --force-all allows all the validations, except:

The --force-overwrite-dir option is not turned on by --force-all. Instead it has to be explicitly specified. This is because it is just plainly crazy to think you should ever use --force-overwrite-dir (i.e. wipe out an entire directory to replace it with a file or vice versa.)

The  --force-rollback option is not turned on by --force-all because the default installation and removal scheme is to install or remove as much as possible and only restore the package that fails before quitting with an error. Use the --force-rollback option explicitly if you want the packager to automatically roll everything back on errors.

IMPORTANT NOTE

The --no-force-all and --refuse-all options completely prevent any --force-... option to function including the --force-all option. This is true whether those cancelation options appear on the command before or after the --force-all option.

 
Syndicate content