wpkg --running-copy ...

The special (and hidden as it is considered internal) --running-copy option is used by wpkg whenever it auto-upgrades itself. This is available for the MS-Windows operating system because the file systems (FAT/NTFS) do not support overwriting an executable which is currently running. wpkg palliates to this problem by making a copy of itself and then run the copy before the extraction of the wpkg package contents.

In order for wpkg to detect/know that it is running as a copy, the system sets this option when executing the copy.

You should never make use of this option. Actually, when used it prevents wpkg from upgrading itself because it will prevent the write to the wpkg.exe binary and restore all the other files. So you could actually use this option as a way to prevent upgrades of wpkg.

See Also: wpkg self-upgrade

Syndicate content